This Is No Man’s Sky…But I Am No Man Therefore It Is My Sky

Perhaps my lack of caring about those who complain about everything in the world has manifested itself so deep into my personality that I mistake it for a Daria-esque attitude, but as I wade through the Steam forums, something a lot of people discourage you doing, I can’t help but notice this sense of smugness amongst gamers, I’ll admit I can be smug when I want to, especially when it comes to people bitching about Dark Souls III. But this sense of smugness I found seems to be coming from a lot of people who are complaining about the recently released space exploration game No Man’s Sky. Let me say that again ‘Space Exploration’, well that was my first impression of the game because I didn’t have a seat on the Hype Train apparently went off the rails and down into Let Down Canyon, seriously who went and hijacked that train? And I don’t really care that it didn’t live up to the hype, I don’t do hype trains.

20160815142308_1

So things were promised that weren’t delivered and it got people mad, and now people want their money back. Well good for them, but I don’t want my forty pounds back (Well actually it was £39.99 but it’s easier to round up), I’ve only got 3 hours of playing on record because I’ve been in the middle of a Bloodborne session, playing Dark Souls III to prep for the Ashes Of Ariandel DLC, and get started on the Fallout 4 DLC’s (I still haven’t gotten around to any of them, I’ve only just began Automatron). And there’s a whole load of other games I’ve been playing as well.

20160815132424_1

Look for the three hours I played No Man’s Sky, I enjoyed it, I can’t fly the spaceship for shit but I can’t drive a bloody horse-drawn carriage either, but for me personally it’s a relaxing experience, just traversing the universe, landing on planets, finding beacons, picking up isotopes and materials to build stuff and keep my equipment topped up, and meeting the local aliens. Do I want there to be multiplayer, not really because as fun as interacting with people would be, I kind of like the lone wanderer feeling I get when I’m walking along the terrain of a newly discovered planet. I’ve discovered some rather pretty locations and I wanted to imagine how cool the water felt on one of the moons I discovered. I’ve barely scraped the surface of this game and I want to find that damn Atlas pass and if that means heading to the center of the universe, well looks like I’ll be going on a long trip looking for something small in a vast universe, so I better start charging up that hyperdrive .

20160815143222_1

Those who got their money back and are still whinging about the game and the features that didn’t get included, you keep on doing that I’m not going to stop you. But I’m going to go back to No Man’s Sky and enjoy it alongside the other four-thousand odd people still playing because I am no man and it is my sky to explore.

3 thoughts on “This Is No Man’s Sky…But I Am No Man Therefore It Is My Sky

  1. PlayerOneTyler says:

    Great post! While I did enjoy my time with No Man’s Sky, I did find myself getting bored with it after a while and I eventually went back to Overwatch. No specific complaints or anything– the game just wasn’t my cup of tea. Who knows? I may go back to it. I did enjoy naming the creatures after Pokemon and celebrities. haha

    I’m actually the Community Content Manager for NowLoading.co, and I would be thrilled if you considered cross posting your stuff to our platform. If you don’t know much about us- we’re the same team behind MoviePilot.com, and push to give awesome writers (like yourself) the exposure they deserve. Feel free to email me! My email and more info is on my about page. 🙂

    Like

  2. matt says:

    I personally never had heard of it; a coworker was talking about it. I seriously couldn’t see the purpose of the game, but far be it from me to rain on a parade. Not my circus, not my monkeys as it were.

    There’s a risk of disappointment to anything that’s hyped to the extent this was. Do I think development houses should prey on gamers? Nope. But do I think gamers should retain some perspective? Oh, yes, indeed.

    If they got their money back and they’re still crying about it, then it’s time to get a life; that’s pathetic.

    Like

Leave a Reply

