Ripley’s Top 5 Overwatch Characters

With the Winter Holidays rolling in around the corner and my last day of my first semester as an MA student on Friday. Blizzard has released their Winter Wonderland update complete with Winter Loot Boxes and new skins, sprays, and intros for your favourite characters. I thought it best that as a fan of Overwatch I let you guys know who my top 5 Overwatch characters to play are, well the ones I main over the others because it’s fun.

  1. Reaper

reaper

Or as he somehow turned out to be head-canoned, the Angsty Dad (I have no idea how), his quick offensive guns and that movement action that allows for invincibility makes for a fun play especially when you get to his Die.Die.Die Ultimate that lends itself to some multi-kills depending on how accurate you can get. I’m not the best at Reaper but I do try and play him whenever I get a chance to. He is a great offence character who honestly has the best outfit.

  1. Mercy

mercy

Whenever the team needs a healer, I will be on hand with Mercy. The Angel who proclaims that Hero’s Never Die…and they rarely do because apparently I’m great at keeping my teammates alive by basically saying ‘fuck the enemies, I’m gonna just perma-heal everyone’. Someone has to do it and Mercy does have a great healing weapon and her wing movement can get you to your dying teammate’s side instantly. I have only used her Ultimate a few times and the last time I got to use it, I have no idea if I even resurrected them. I’ve been the subject of the Ultimate whenever I was playing offence or defence and we had a Mercy in the group. But she is my favourite healer to be when the time calls for it.

  1. Hanzo

hanzo

He recently became a favourite due to my current obsession with Archery in any game where it is possible to use a bow. I have gotten Play of the Game as Hanzo as evidenced by the short video on my YouTube channel, what no one sees after the screen fades is I died right after I activated the Dragons. And that is how I play Overwatch, do something awesome, immediately die right after. I’ve grown accustomed to switching out arrows, trying to aim the Dragon ULT at a target although I keep missing due to my crap aim but I enjoy playing Hanzo, he’s a fun defence character and it’s doubly fun if you have a Genji in the team and get to hear their interactions with each other. I was part of a skirmish in King’s Row as Hanzo and I met someone playing Genji on there and I waved to them while they pelted me with Shurikens.

  1. McCree

mccree

First off, I absolutely adore his voice actor Matthew Mercer because he voices McCready, who is my favourite Fallout 4 companion to take around with me. Secondly, he is a Clint-Eastwood wannabe cowboy who has the best catchphrase. He was also the first character I played as when I bought the game. When I started practicing with A.I matches he was my go-to and I got better at his ULT and using his weapons and paralysing bombs as I levelled up. In the lore of the game and as a character to play I love playing as McCree when I want to play offence, his ULT is great when lined up perfectly for a triple kill. In fact McCree was the character I wanted to ace as because he is pretty great. He is pretty vulnerable though, or maybe that’s just me when I play him because I do tend to die quite a bit as McCree, at least when I began playing the game I did. But I’ve levelled and gotten better at it so I’m still okay, but more A.I practice is good, because when up against people in a quick play or skirmish it gets pretty nasty out there.

Also because the Winter Wonderland update has been released I really want his Scrooge skin because that looks so bad ass.

1. Junkrat

junkrat

And finally we come to my top character Junkrat, a loveable and crazy defence character with an exploding tire. I get Play of the Game quite frequently as him, but I also play him as offence as well because somehow it just works. I also love launching myself forwards or backwards on the map as well launching the enemy. Funny story actually, I might have to put this video on YouTube too, but I did launch some characters off the map with the Concussion Mine, which was awesome. I also like the use of the steel traps which call out ‘TRIGGERED’ when they catch someone in them.

Oh and the Rip Tire is bloody awesome, getting several kills with that is the best and luckily it has enough time on it before it explodes so you can roll it around while you look for a cluster of enemies. I have also died to that ULT as well once because I got too close as an enemy was right up in my face when I launched it.

And while being a defence character I seem to have a blast playing him as an offence character, getting up on the front line and ahead of everybody to take out the enemy, sometimes it’s killed me but it has also netted me a lot of kills against the enemy as well.

So that was my Top 5 Overwatch character I enjoy playing, the next post may be Dishonored related, depending on how quickly I can finish the game in order to make a start on Dishonored 2.

One thought on “Ripley’s Top 5 Overwatch Characters

Leave a Reply

